

City of Milwaukee

Department Details

Department name: SAFETY COMMISSION

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

PURPOSE: To advise the City concerning methods of providing for safety of the public and City employees.

COMPOSITION: Nine members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council, two-thirds of whom must be City residents who hold no public office or employment and one-third of whom must be representatives of private-sector public safety agencies. Members serve three- year terms.

A member who is not a public offical continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 320-27 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances

SALARY: \$20 per meeting

STAFFING: Milwaukee Police Dept. Safety Academy, 935-7990

NOTES: Pursuant to s. 320-27-1-b of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances, the terms of all incumbent members of the Commission as of February 18, 2005, expired on February 28, 2005.

LAST UPDATED: March 17, 2009

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/28/2005	4/18/2008	*
VACANCY Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/28/2005	4/18/2008	*
Agnes Stearns Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/19/2009	2/19/2012	*
Craig Hasting Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	3/4/2009	3/4/2012	*

Dale T. Radke Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/20/2009	2/20/2012	*
Eric Biernat Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/19/2009	2/19/2012	*
James Koleas Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/18/2009	2/18/2012	*
LaVerne E. Her Appointed By:	mann Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/23/2009	2/23/2012	*
Richard Heath Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/11/2009	2/11/2012	*

^{*} indicates extended term